Lettuce Wraps 

Sometimes you just have to get creative with what’s in your pantry! I did this by putting a spin on the classic vegetable stir fry.. and making lettuce wraps! Asian lettuce wraps are one of my very favorite restaurant appetizers, so I had high standards for myself. The end product was very tasty!

My lettuce wraps are full of delicious Asian inspired flavors and I even made my own hoisin sauce (see recipe below). Combine the following ingredients into a wok pan over the stove and cook until veggies are soft: 
2 tbsp garlic, 2 tsp ginger, 1 cup sliced onion, 1 cup water chestnuts, 2 peppers (green and yellow), 1.5 tbsp toasted sesame oil, 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar, 3 tsp sriracha sauce, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1/4 cup *homemade hoisin sauce

After cooking , top with roasted almond slices (peanuts are preferred, but this is what I had in my pantry 🤷🏼‍♀️), chopped green onions, and fill iceberg lettuce cups.

 —-> *homemade hoisin sauce recipe: 4 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbps peanut butter, 1 tbsp honey, 2 tsp white wine vinegar, 1 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp sesame oil, 20 drops of hot sauce, tsp black pepper 

I felt like I had my own Asian restaurant for the night! I was very proud of this dish and would definitely make it again!

Leave a Reply

