Warm Bok Choy Salad

After a long Monday back to work and a hard workout, I got home this evening hungry and in need of something quick and easy to make for dinner. Can you all relate? I sat on my couch debating cooking a meal or gabbing some carry out. I remembered I had some fun vegetables in my fridge that were still fresh and decided to utilize what I had (and save some money).

I decided on making a stir fry. These are the best unplanned meals because they are usually made in one pan (woo less dish washing!) and you can really add whatever you like to them. The only thing that takes a bit of time is the vegetable prep. I only spent about 5 minutes chopping my vegetables: orange and red peppers, red onion, jalepeno (saving just a couple seeds for spice), mango (for some sweetness and because I love it), and some Bok Choy. I also minced some garlic and ginger. 

I heated my wok pan and added a splash of vegatable oil as well a teaspoon of sesame oil into the pan. I first added the garlic and ginger until fragrant (1 or 2 minutes). I then added the vegetables along with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and some basil. I cooked these until they were almost softened. This is when I added the Bok Choy along with a teaspoon of rice wine vinegar and a teaspoon of soy sauce. I let it cook until it wilted a bit but still maintained some crunch. At this point the vegetables have cooked and the flavors have all come together in the wok pan, and it’s time to serve up the dish!

I ate this over a bed of rice that I had leftover for some starch to the dish, but that is up to you! Enjoy this easy weeknight meal!

Leave a Reply

