Stuffed Poblanos 

This Mexican Stuffed Poblano was en fuego tonight🔥! To create this dish, I started with my sweet potato. I poked holes in it and popped it in the microwave for 4 minutes (just to give it a little head start on cooking time). Meanwhile, I rinsed and drained my black beans and hominy, cut up some red tomatoes, and chopped up some cauliflower to a rice like consistency. The microwave behind me beeped and I set aside the potato to cool. I then cut the poblano peppers in half and took some of the seeds out (you know I like my spice!) I set those aside and began to dice my sweet potato. Once diced, I started on my spice mixture—> in a bowl I added the beans, hominy, diced sweet potato, cumin, coriander, paprika, garlic, salt and pepper. I mixed this all together with some olive oil until it was all coated. Now, time to stuff the peppers! I started with a layer of my cauliflower rice, then my bean/hominy/sweet potato mixture, topped with fresh tomatoes, and fresh oregano. I popped these babies into the oven at 400 for 30 minutes. While cooking, I zested some lime, cut up an avocado and some lime wedges. Once my stuffed peppers were all cooked through, I added my zest, lime juice and finishing salt! So much flavor in these peppers AND it’s healthy!    **feel free to add cheese to these for added flavor and creaminess 😋

Leave a Reply

